Rugby Australia Awards 2023: All the info you need to know

The 2023 edition of the Rugby Australia Awards are set to be unveiled in the coming days.As last year, the awards will be released across February and March to celebrate an incredible year of Rugby.It will conclude with the awarding of the John Eales Medal, with Wallabies flanker Michael Hooper out to win a record fifth award.Check out all the details for the 2023 Rugby Australia Awards below Harvey Norman Super Rugby Player of the Year – Rob ValetiniThe Super Rugby Player of the Year is awarded to the standout player from the 2022 Super Rugby season from the Australian clubs.Brumbies enforcer Valetini claimed the award after guiding the club to the semi-finals.Click here for more informationPAST WINNERS2021: James O'Connor (Reds)2019: Samu Kerevi (Reds)2018: Taniela Tupou (Reds)2017: Amanaki Mafi (Rebels)Community AwardsThe Community Awards recognises all the incredible contributors to the great game of Rugby.It aims to celebrate Rugby at all stages, especially at the grassroots level.These awards include Volunteer of the Year, Joe French Award for Outstanding Contribution to Rugby, Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award and Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of RugbyBuildcorp Super W Player of the YearThe Super W Player of Year looks at the best player during the 2022 Super W competition from the Australian clubs.2022 saw the Fijiana Drua claim their first ever title, capping off a historic year for the expansion club.Last season lead to a number of players making their Wallaroos debut after breakout seasons.PAST WINNERS2021: Lucy Lockhart (Reds)2020: Ema Masi (Brumbies)2019: Tayla Stanford (Brumbies)2018: Shanice Parker (NSW)Fedex Referee of the YearThe Referee of the Year is awarded to the standout Australian Rugby referee across either Sevens or the 15-a-side format.It is awarded to the referee who demonstrates high standards of officiating and is considered to be a role model for the game in Australia.There have been several referees that have made their name on the World circuit, refereeing games at the Six Nations, Rugby Championship and Rugby World Cup 2021.PAST WINNERS2021: Nic Berry2019: Nic Berry2018: Angus Gardner2017: Angus GardnerRookie of the YearRookie of the Year is awarded to the player who is deemed to have been the most outstanding first year player in Australia in the last 12 months.They must have made their debut for either the Wallabies, Wallaroos or Aust 7's teams on or since the opening game in the current rugby seasonPAST WINNERS2021: Andrew Kellaway2019: Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Jordan Petaia2018: Taniela Tupou2017: Ned HaniganCadbury Try of the YearThe Try of the Year is awarded to the best try scored by an Australian across the past 12 months.This includes Wallabies, Wallaroos, Super Rugby, Super W and Sevens.PAST WINNERS2021: Taniela Tupou v South Africa, Brisbane2019: Nic White v New Zealand, Perth2018: Taqele Naiyaravoro v Rebels (Round 5 – Super Rugby)2017: Joe Powell v Hurricanes (Round 2 – Super Rugby)Shawn Mackay Awards: Men’s and Women’s Sevens Players of the YearThe Shaun Mackay Awards celebrates the best Sevens players from 2022.It is awarded to the standout and most consistent Australian Men's and Women's Sevens player across the last 12 months.Both sides finished 2022 as the World Series champions, with the Women completing a historic Triple Crown.PAST WINNERS2021: Henry Hutchison & Charlotte Caslick2019: Maurice Longbottom & Charlotte Caslick2018: Ben O'Donnell & Evania Pelite2017: James Stannard & Chloe DaltonBuildcorp Wallaroos Player of the YearThe Wallaroos Player of the Year is awarded to the best and most consistent Women's player across the last 12 months.It must be a representative of Australia's national women's team (Wallaroos XV) and recognises the female Australian Rugby player that has shown the most outstanding on-field performance over the last 12 monthsThe award makes its return after a COVID-affected 2021 for the Wallaroos, with last season headlined by October's Rugby World CupPAST WINNERS2019: Grace Hamilton2018: Emily Chancellor2017: Hillisha SamoaJohn Eales MedalThe John Eales Medal represents the standout Men's Player across the last 12 months.Wallabies flanker Michael Hooper holds the record with five Medals since it was introduced in 2002.It is a peer-voted award to Wallaby that is considered the most outstanding performing player across the last 12 monthsPAST WINNERS2021: Michael Hooper2020: Michael Hooper2019: Marika Koroibete2018: David Pocock2017: Israel Folau2016: Michael Hooper2015: Israel Folau2014: Israel Folau2013: Michael Hooper2012: Nathan Sharpe2011: Kurtley Beale2010: David Pocock2009: Matt Giteau2008: George Smith2007: Nathan Sharpe2006: Chris Latham2005: Jeremy Paul 2004: David Lyons2003: Phil Waugh2002: George SmithClick Here: Ruben Dias Jersey Sale

Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *